A Kevin and Bean Glossary

April Fool’s Day

Posted in April Fool's Day by Aaron Burr on March 9, 2007

Every April 1st the show will broadcast a hoax, usually in an attempt to lure fans to events that do not exist (The Mall of America in Orange, A free Blink 182 concert, Ralph’s Bachelor Party). They have also in the past broadcast an entire show of Pirate Radio’s Shannon in the Morning (former LA radio show), as well as running the typical Saturday morning show to throw off listeners.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Josh B. said, on April 21, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    Well that is how I started listening to KROQ. Before April 1, 1996 I was listening to Power 106 and getting tired of it and wanted something different. So on that date my alarm goes off and I hear K&B on Power. After about 10 minutes I was like, hey these guys are funny. I knew it was an April fools joke and later found out that Powers morning DJ’s at the time the Baka Boys were at KROQ. I didn’t know where K&B were from on that day. So the next day I scanned all the stations to see where they were, just to find out it was a notch up on the radio dial. Ever since then I have been listening to KROQ and never turned back. On top of it I even liked the music. So this was probably the one time when an Aprils fools joke actually got a new listener. Of course it could have happened the other way and people listening to KROQ at the time switched to Power cause of the Baka Boys.

  2. Mrs. I. said, on June 15, 2009 at 6:50 am

    I remember the Mall of America April Fool’s Day because I went looking for that mall. That was years ago and I have been wary ever since. I’ve been listening to Kevin & Bean since their first year and let me just say: ewwwwwwwwwww Baka Boys!?!??

  3. Jannet said, on April 1, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    Hello there, Happy April Fool’s Day!!!

    A man stumbles up to the only other patron in a bar and asks if he could buy him a drink.
    “Why of course,” comes the reply.
    The first man then asks, “Where are you from?”
    “I’m from Ireland,” replies the second man.
    The first man responds, “You don’t say, I’m from Ireland too! Let’s have another round to Ireland.”
    “I’m curious,” the first man then asks, “Where in Ireland are you from?”
    “Dublin,” comes the reply.
    “I can’t believe it,” says the first man. “I’m from Dublin too! Let’s have another drink to Dublin.”
    “Of course,” replies the second man.
    Curiosity again strikes and the first man asks, “What school did you go to?”
    “Saint Mary’s,” replies the second man, “I graduated in ’62.”
    “This is unbelievable!” the first man says. “I went to Saint Mary’s and I graduated in ’62, too!”
    About that time in comes one of the regulars and sits down at the bar.
    “What’s been going on?” he asks the bartender.
    “Nothing much,” replies the bartender. “The O’Kinly twins are drunk again.”

    Happy April Fool’s Day!

  4. Casfgrl said, on April 18, 2013 at 8:55 pm

    The Thom York April Fools broadcast back in the 90’s was the best to this day!


Leave a Reply

