A Kevin and Bean Glossary

Doc on the ‘Roq

Posted in Current staff, Doc by Aaron Burr on March 9, 2007

The surly newsman whose 60-second reports are interspersed throughout the show, his patience is often tested by K&B’s needling and insults, giving the jokes about Doc “going postal” a certain air of authenticity. Funny moments include a call-in segment called “What’s in Doc’s Butt?,” and the airing of conversations Lisa May secretly recorded when giving Doc a ride to work. His short-lived weekend news program proved that he didn’t need K&B around in order to fly off the handle.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. douglasjohndouglas said, on January 31, 2011 at 9:17 am

    Doc is great. Doc is good. When I hear him, I get wood.

  2. douglasjohndouglas said, on January 31, 2011 at 9:20 am

    Seriously, though. I appreciate the quick, impartial and pointed view Doc provides. Many, many times I have been cued by him first onto news stories that unfold to reveal complicated and nuanced chaotic truths.

    Wait, were we talking about the radio station?

  3. tani mik said, on February 28, 2012 at 9:03 am

    I still remember Doc debating Wally George about pot.Damn…That was a lifetime ago!

  4. douglasjohndouglas said, on February 28, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    Yeah, he is a real fixture on the dial. He goes back to Rodney’s early days and possibly even back to when KROQ was on the AM dial, maybe 1977 or 78. I really like his news bursts. No bullshit. No sensational crap. Many times, Doq is my first source for stories.

  5. Sam Greenhill said, on March 15, 2013 at 9:08 am

    Just turned on KROQ for the first time in many years this morning, since they changed their format from alternative to metal back in the ’90s. I honestly couldn’t believe Doc was still there and yet I still recognized his voice. K&B still talk too much, though. I wonder if Blade or Jed or Poorman are still around…

  6. Dave Wisor said, on April 22, 2013 at 9:13 am

    Why don’t we have an easy way to contact Doc? Today I heard a recap of the bombing in Boston and I was aware of how intently I was listening to what he said. And this isn’t the first time I have wanted to let him know that even though I am out of KROQ’s broadcast area (about 9 square blocks in Pasadena) here in Bakersfield. I can put his voice , opinion and insight on a short list of those that command my immediate attention. Thanks Doc for never wavering on your integrity and your dedication to the long forgotten responsibility of what radio should bring to the public. If there is an easy way to hear Docs’ reports let me know at davewisor@sbcglobal.net


Leave a Reply

